Officially 22

Dear Serina,

Twenty one years ago you arrived onto this planet, and in the years since then, your experiences have helped to turn you into a beautiful person, both inside and out. Your generous spirit, your insatiable wanderlust, and your belief in the ideal are invigorating for me to see, as someone who’s in the latter half of his twenties. In the five and a half years since I turned 21, I’ve experienced personal highs and career lows, from sobbing painfully in my car before heading to a job I hated to traveling thousands of miles to Asia, Australia, and Europe with beloved family and friends. All those experiences helped me grow into a more courageous, more thoughtful, and more empathetic person, the person who decided “why not?” before messaging you on Instagram. I’m so glad I did because the biggest surprises in life come from extremely unexpected places. Happy birthday my wonderful online friend. I look forward to seeing what you do in the years to come.

Much love,
C-

Today I woke up to this most heartful birthday msg, and I’m feeling incrediably grateful and lucky to be in where I am today.

Family and friends:


Thank you for always being there for me, for supporting me and encouraging me when i was doubting myself; and thank you for holding my hands and exploring this world with me. i know you always want the best for me, and I’m glad and proud to say this today: Yes, i do fear for the possibility of being a horrible, embarrassing failure, but I’m happy that i know where I want to be and what I want to be doing, and i have faith in them, and its exciting!

University, Majors:

if this was 3 years ago, i would never believe that I’m going to say this, but I enjoy being in school and all the classes everyday.  I’m grateful  that my passion for art has gradually turned into one of the biggest parts in my life; I’m grateful for those great minds who have constantly inspired the world and make me want to be a better person everyday; to be a more creative, courageous, and righteous person; and of course also those free souls Ive met throughout the journey, thanks for opening my eyes and my heart.

Yes! I’m very aware that i am a lucky person, and I’m thankful for it everyday (Well, probably not everyday, 98.538% of the days?!!😀 )

HAPPY BIRTHDAY SERINA! YOU ARE OFFICIALLY 22 ! BIG GIRL! I wish you will grow into someone who feels completely secure about herself, both inside and out, but also always humble to learn, and more importantly, never loose your boldness to be kind, and be understanding to the world.
KEEP CREATING>.

and Hey, You are NOT my online friend, you are my friend.  🙂; )

Leave a Reply

